Life is for Liv-ing for Chris

SATURDAY, November 15 is a date Chris Kane might want to mark in his diary.

And the same goes for Dumbarton and Livingston.

It is the date of the clubs’ next clash – a fixture that the on-loan St Johnstone striker has now decided with a late goal THREE times in a row.

The youngster, who turns 20 on Friday, got an early celebration when he scored the only goal of Sons’ victory over Livi on Saturday in the final minute of normal time.

Last season, his 84th minute equaliser in February salvaged a 2-2 draw for Dumbarton against the same opposition.

And the next month, he scored the last-gasp winner in a 2-1 victory at Almondvale.

Saturday’s victory may not have the same glamour attached as St Johnstone’s Scottish Cup triumph in May, or the Perth side’s fairly successful Europa League run.

But to Chris, who was there to witness both successes for his parent club, it meant everything as he aims to continue his progress with Sons.

He said: “I wouldn’t say Livingston are a lucky club for me to play against but it’s just down to luck sometimes.

“I’ve just come back hoping to get games as I haven’t been getting them at St Johnstone. It was great to get the goal at the end.

“It’s a good club here and I get on well with all the players. It’s an exciting season for Dumbarton and I’m pleased to be back.

“It was a great experience for St Johnstone to play in Europe, even though I never played in any of their games against Lucern or Spartak Trnava.

“It was completely different to what you experience with Scottish fans, and a different standard of football.

“The Europa League is a very hard tournament to play in and it was good for St Johnstone to be involved.

“I was also happy to be part of the squad on cup final day. Dundee United were no pushovers going into the game but St Johnstone won 2-0.”

Before starting his second loan spell with Sons, Chris made two first-team substitute appearances for St Johnstone, against Ross County and Hamilton Accies.

Now he has a week to take a break from action before his loan club resumes action, at home to Hearts.

At Perth, he is of course hoping to follow in the footsteps of Stevie May, who has recently joined Sheffield Wednesday from St Johnstone.

May also experienced life out on loan before he made the breakthrough in Perth, and Chris hopes for a similar outcome for himself.

He added: “Stevie was a great player for St Johnstone and he’s already got his first goal for Wednesday. He’s still settling in but I think he’ll score plenty down south.

“That’s what I want to do in football as well and if I can copy what he’s done then that will be great.

“Last season I played 18 games for Dumbarton and scored 10 goals. I understand I’ve got 18 games this time around as well – so hopefully I can get a similar goal return.

“I’m a young player so I’m not expecting to jump straight into the St Johnstone team. I’m happy with how I’m progressing there and coming back to Dumbarton can only help.”

One thought on “Life is for Liv-ing for Chris

Leave a comment