Easton promise

DYLAN EASTON has grown up with Tynecastle and Easter Road on his doorstep.

But over the coming months, he’ll be doing anything but supporting either of his local teams.

If nothing else, there’s friendly rivalry at stake.

The youngster became Dumbarton’s latest loan signing last week, arriving from St Johnstone until the end of the season, replacing fellow Perth loanee Chris Kane.

He made his debut in Saturday’s 5-1 reverse to his former club Livingston, but hopes that better times lie ahead during his stay at the Rock.

And with Sons’ trips to Ibrox finished for the season, there are two grounds the Edinburgh boy is particularly looking forward to visiting.

He said: “A lot of my mates play for Hibs and Hearts and I’ve been saying that I’ll score a few goals against them when I play against them this season!

“Every time I’ve played against Dumbarton they’ve been a good side. I came to watch them a few times when Chris was playing for them and they did well to finish in the top half last season.

I played for Berwick in the season when Rangers were in the bottom division and had a couple of good games at Ibrox. I had calls from a few clubs so I was very fortunate.

“My release from Livingston was just for financial reasons. Livingston had to release a lot of players and my agent and I came to a decision that it was best for me to go elsewhere. I was offered a new deal there but it wasn’t the best offer for me.”

And it’s Kane’s example that he’s looking to follow during his time with Sons, which will continue at Falkirk on Saturday.

With Dylan already having already been out on loan this season, in a lower division, St Johnstone boss Tommy Wright was anxious for him to get experience at a higher level.

Dylan added: “I’m looking forward to it. My first loan was to Arbroath but I had discussions with the manager and we thought it was best for me to come to a Championship club.

“There were a few options but I had further discussions with the boss on Tuesday and we talked about a move to Dumbarton. I liked what he had to say.

“Chris has been telling me about the club and the players. It’s a good club to be involved in and he was always keeping me updated on how he was progressing here.

“My ambitions for my time here are to get some game time and experience. Hopefully I can go back to St Johnstone and do what Chris has done – force my way into the first team plans.

“He was different class when St Johnstone played Aberdeen on Friday, so I hope a loan spell at Dumbarton can do the same for me.”

Leave a comment