A chance for Donald to shine?

Please note that ALL content on The Dumbarton Terrace is copyright and may not be reproduced in any form without the author’s prior permission.

EVEN as a completely meaningless fixture, Dumbarton’s game with Raith Rovers on Saturday has one big question in advance.

Will Donald McCallum, scorer of two goals in only 26 minutes of first-team football, get his first start for Sons?

He only turned 18 in September, and has spent most of the season playing for the club’s under-20 side.

But why not? If he did well to get a goal in only his second game as a sub, against Livingston in January, what about Saturday?

Ten minutes from the end of the match against Queen of the South, Sons trailed 2-0 when Mark Gilhaney played the ball to Donald from the right.

The young substitute’s finish was as clinical as that of a seasoned goalscorer, and led to calls for him to start against Raith.

However, the teenager insists he’ll be happy just to get a run-out as Dumbarton take on the managerless Kirkcaldy side.

He told The Dumbarton Terrace: “It was brilliant to get another goal. I’ve only played about 26 minutes in total for the first team and to have scored twice in that time is great.

“It was especially good to score against Queen of the South as they are a good side. I was just happy to get a bit of game time, but to score was a real bonus. It’s just a pity about the result.

“Garry Fleming was injured so when I looked at the bench I thought I would get on at some point, and I was preparing myself as a result.

“I’ve done alright with the under-20s this season and I thought I did alright when I came on at Dumfries as well.

“I think everyone will be hoping for a start in the last game of the season on Saturday. If I could even get about 25-30 minutes on the pitch that would be fine.

“But it would be good to get some game time. Raith are not going for anything and neither are we, but hopefully it will still be a good game.

“I’m not sure what to expect from it. We’ve beaten them 2-1 and they’ve beaten us 2-1, and with their manager leaving you don’t know what can happen.

“The manager just said well done to me after my goal. He hasn’t given anything away about who will play on Saturday yet.

“We’ll be training tomorrow night, so hopefully I can do well during that session and we’ll see what happens from there.”

Donald’s introduction at Dumfries was one half of a double change by Sons, which saw fellow under-20 prospect Ryan Clark make his first team debut.

The duo were put into the action after a fine season with the under-20 squad – with a highlight being Donald’s recent five-goal haul against Annan Athletic.

He can still play for the development squad in the 2015/16 campaign, but is waiting to see if a more established first team place awaits him.

Donald continued: “Ryan has deserved it. He’s done really well with the under-20s this season even though he came in a bit after the season started.

“It was good to see him getting his first team debut and there are a few young players who could also make it.

“I don’t really know what’s going to happen in the next few weeks. Nothing has been spoken about and if I get some game time this weekend, and possibly score, you don’t know what can happen.

“I would hope to get a contract with the first team but I’ve still got another year to play under-20 football.”

As the development side’s season is now over, Donald’s boots can be hung up for a few weeks after Saturday whatever happens.

The Sons Supporters Trust awards night will round off the term, but the teenager added: “I don’t think I’m going to the awards bash, but I’ll see what’s happening!

“The under-20s had their final game of the season at Annan last week. We lost 4-2 but they had about five or six first team players out while we were all under-20s.

“I’m looking forward to a break after Saturday. I’ll just be working and going to the gym and keeping myself fit before pre-season starts.”

Leave a comment