Scott wants season number five

Please note that ALL content on The Dumbarton Terrace is copyright and may not be reproduced in any form without the author’s prior permission.

SCOTT AGNEW seems to have the Indian sign over Raith Rovers.

Now there’s only one bit of signing on his mind – putting pen to paper on a new deal with Dumbarton.

The midfielder got Sons’ equaliser in Saturday’s 2-2 draw at home to the Kirkcaldy side, which rounded off the season.

It was his fourth goal against Raith this season – and the seventh of his career. Six for Sons, one for Alloa.

And as it turned out, he could have been top scorer for Dumbarton this season – if he had scored a penalty against the Wasps in March instead of Garry Fleming.

But it isn’t quite time to relax, as gaffer Ian Murray has already started announcing who will and won’t be with the club in the 2015/16 campaign.

Scott Linton, Mitch Megginson and Archie Campbell are away – but Scott is adamant he wants a fifth season at the Rock.

He said: “I will speak to the manager and we will take it from there. I’ve already spoken to him briefly and he wants me to stay.

“I am part of his plans so we will sit down and see what we can work out. Of course I would like to stay on.

“I don’t know what it is about me and Raith Rovers but I always seem to score against them. It’s been the way throughout my career.

“But I don’t really care who the goals come against. It’s just nice to get them.

“If I hadn’t let Garry take the penalty against Alloa I would have been top scorer! However, I’m pleased for him.

“He’s had a great season – he’s been playing a deeper role. I’m more than happy with my five.”

Jordan Kirkpatrick’s goal looked to have put Sons on their way to a final day victory, but Raith had other ideas and led 2-1.

That was until Scott cashed in on a slack header inside the penalty area with 15 minutes left.

The draw rounded off a season where Dumbarton achieved their goal of Championship survival well ahead of schedule.

Scott added: “I thought we did well in the first half, but in the second we took a bit of time to get going.

“We showed great character to get back into the game and it’s nice to take a point to finish the season.

“I think we’ve done really well to be safe with six games to go. It’s disappointing that we’ve let it slip in the final games but had you offered us that at the start of the season we’d definitely have taken it.”

Leave a comment